Pazz & Jop Product Reports, 2017

As far as I can tell, May 2017 was when I first started posting these more-or-less monthly report cards on facebook, demonstrating my obessive-compulsiveness for anybody who inexplicably still doubted its existence. If you can’t figure out what the lists and grades are about because they look totally cryptic and you hate math and need further explanation, feel free to check the ones from 2018 (which probably has a few unannotated 2017 releases mixed in), 2019 (which might), 2020 and/or 2021. Or don’t. Hey, it’s still a free country so far, right?

Here’s what my year-end Top 10 looked liked at the end of 2017; some months-on judgements may supersede the earlier ones below, though don’t discount further calibrations in some distant potential future decade: Jakuzi – Fantezi  Müzik (City Slang); Kenji Minogue En Dermee (Music Mania); Louis Sclavis Frontières (JMs); RenissTendon (New Bell); Scooter Scooter Forever (Sheffield Tunes); CabbageYoung Dumb and Full Of… (Skeleton Key); Charlie Worsham Beginning Of Things (Warner Bros.); Bruce Cockburn Bone On Bone (True North); Carlinhos Brown Semelhantes (Candyall); Nadia RoseHighly Flammable (Relentless.)

(Disclaimer: September’s Tao Cross score was assigned prior to the revelation that former Amebix member Rob Miller had thanked Holocaust denier Gerard Menuhin in the album’s liner notes, and the subsequent dissolution of the band’s lineup, including Michael Langevin from Voivod. It is no way an endorsement of anything Nazi.)

Jakuzi get lei’d, advertise chickens in Turkey.


YEA: Jakuzi: Fantezi Müzik (City Slang) 8; Cabbage: Young Dumb and Full Of… (Skeleton Key) 8; Reniss: Tendon (New Bell) 8; Jesters of Destiny: The Sorrows That Refuse to Drown (Jesters of Destiny) 7; Red Baraat: Bhangra Pirates (Rhyme & Reason) 7; Tuxedo: II (Stones Throw) 7; Nadia Rose: Highly Flammable (Relentless) 7; Melody Gold: Zero to a Hundred (Nlightn) 7; Poni Hoax: Tropical Suite (Pan European) 7; Taylor Girlz: Who Are Those Girlz!? (Taylor Boi/RCA EP) 7.

NAY: Andrew Combs: Canyons of My Mind (New West) -2; Chris Stapleton: From a Room, Vol. 1 (Universal) -2; Mastodon: Emperor of Sand (Reprise) -2; Kendrick Lamar: Damn (Top Dawg/Aftermath/Interscope) -2; Brad Paisley: Love And War (Arista Nashville) -1.


YEA: Charlie Worsham: Beginning of Things (Warner Bros.) 7; Coldcut x On U Sound: Outside the Echo Chamber (Ahead of Our Time) 7; Here Lies Man: Here Lies Man (Riding Easy) 5; Lunar Shadow: Far From Light (Cruz Del Sur) 5; Sunny Sweeney : Trophy (Aunt Daddy) 5; Justin Townes Earle: Kids in the Street (New West) 3; Jace Everett : Dust & Dirt (Weston Boys) 3; Lauren Alaina: Road Less Traveled (Mercury Nashville/ 19/ Interscope) 3; Arduini / Balich: Dawn of Ages (Cruz Del Sur) 3; Nikki Lane: Highway Queen (New West) 3.

NAY: Perfume Genius : No Shape (Matador) -3; Zac Brown Band: Welcome Home (Southern Ground/Atlantic) – 2; Rodney Crowell: Close Ties (New West) -1; Descartes A Kant: Love Propaganda (Cleopatra) – 1; Little Big Town: The Breaker (Capitol Nashville) – 1.

Did Haloo Helsinki Finnish their dinner?


YEA: Haloo Helsinki!: Huluuden Highway (Ratas Music) 8; Ibibio Sound Machine: Uyai (Merge) 5; Night Demon: Darkness Remains (Century Media) 5; Stallion: From The Dead (High Roller) 5; Tomasz Stanko New York Quartet : December Avenue (ECM) 5; Hey Violet : From The Outside (Capitol) 3; Midland: Midland (Big Machine EP) 2; Elder: Reflections of a Floating World (Armageddon) 2; Hurray For The Riff Raff: The Navigator (Ato) 2; Arto Lindsay: Cuidado Madame (Northern Spy) 2.

NAY: Rise Against: Wolves (Virgin) -3; Halsey: Hopeless Fountain Kingdom (Astralwerks) -2; Phil Vassar: American Soul Summer (American Soul) -1; Lorde: Melodrama (Lava/Republic) -1; Harry Styles : Harry Styles (Columbia) -1.


YEA: Matt Mitchell & Tim Berne: Forage (Screwgun) 7; Steve Coleman’s Natal Eclipse: Morphogenesis (Pi) 5; Ulan Bator: Stereolith (Bureau B) 5; Omar Souleyman: To Syria, With Love (Mad Decent) 5; Faust: Fresh Air (Bureau B) 5; F.S.K. : Ein Haufen Scheiss und ein Zertrümmertes Klavier (Martin Hossbach) 3; The Mavericks: Brand New Day (Thirty Tigers) 2; The Secret Sisters: You Don’t Own Me Anymore (New West) 1; Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit: Nashville Sound (Southeastern) 1; Luke Combs: This One’s For You (River House/Columbia) 1.

NAY: Old Crow Medicine Show: 50 Years of Blonde on Blonde (Columbia) – 2; Brantley Gilbert: The Devil Don’t Sleep (Valory Music) -1; KMFDM: Hell Yeah (Earmusic) -1; Hocico: Spider Bites (Out Of Line) -1; Laibach: Also Sprach Zarathustra (Mute) -1.


YEA: Tau Cross: Pillar Of Fire (Relapse) 7; Kesha : Rainbow (Kemosabe) 5; Walpyrgus: Walpyrgus Nights (Cruz Del Sur) 5; Manilla Road: To Kill A King (GoldenCore) 5; Quicksand Dream: Beheading Tyrants (Cruz Del Sur) 3; Legionairre: Dawn Of Genesis (Cruz Del Sur) 3; Alice Cooper: Paranormal (Earmusic) 3; Lindsey Buckingham & Christine McVie: Lindsey Buckingham Christine McVie (Atlantic) 3; Rage: Seasons of the Black (Nuclear Blast) 2; Ewigkeit: Cosmic Man (Svart) 2.

NAY: In This Moment: Ritual (Roadrunner) – 2; King Woman: Created In The Image Of Suffering (Relapse) -2; Queens of the Stone Age: Villains (Matador) -2; The War On Drugs: A Deeper Understanding (Atlantic) -1; Randy Newman : Dark Matter (Nonesuch) -1.

Sinkane, sockless.


YEA: Sinkane: Life and Livin’ It (Slang City) 8; Serge Beynaud: Accelerate (Star Factory) 7; Dev: I Only See You When I’m Dreamin’ (Devishot) 7; Argus: From Fields of Fire (Cruz Del Sur) 7; Treponem Pal: Rockers’ Vibes (Juste Une Trace) 7; Mausoleum Gate: Into a Dark Divinity (Cruz Del Sur) 7; Frozen Nation: Dark Belgian Disco (Sub-Continental) 5; Mashrou’ Leila: Ibn El Leil (Shoop!Shoop!) 5; Alphaville: Strange Attractor (We Love Music) 2; Zeshan B: Vetted (Minty Fresh) 2.

NAY: The Deslondes: Hurry Home (New West) -3; Jake Bugg: Hearts That Strain (Island) -2; Demi Lovato: Tell Me You Love Me (Island) -1; Kehlani: SweetSexySavage (TSNMI/Atlantic) – 1; SZA: Ctrl (Top Dawg/RCA) -1.


YEA: Liz Rose: Swimming Alone (Liz Rose) 5; Celine Dion: Encore Un Soir (Columbia) 5; Lee Ann Womack: The Lonely, The Lonesome & The Gone (Ato) 3; Darius Rucker:  When Was the Last Time (Capitol Nashville) 3; Whitney Rose:  Rule 62 (Six Shooter) 3; Carly Pearce: Every Little Thing (Big Machine) 3; Toby Keith: The Bus Songs (Show Dog/Thirty Tigers) 2; Midland: On The Rocks (Big Machine) 2;  Shania Twain: Now (Mercury Nashville) 2; Nicole Atkins:  Goodnight Rhonda Lee (Single Lock) 1.

NAY: Niall Horan: Flicker (Capitol) -3; Ron Gallo: Heavy Meta (New West) -1; Pink: Beautiful Trauma (RCA) -1; Lilly Hiatt: Trinity Lane (New West) -1; Kid Rock: Sweet Southern Sugar (BMG/Broken Bow) -1.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: